• Ambassa-Visitors

    • 88,624 hits
  • Site Meter
    Click here to see from where: Geo Visitors Map

  • Welcome



    Welcome to the Ambassablog! We're the front-line employee bloggers of the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority and participants in the Airport Authority's Goodwill Ambassador Program.

    Here you'll find our continually updated posts about life at historic San Diego International Airport (Lindbergh Field).

    Take a look around, and Email us if there's something you'd like to see added to the Ambassablog or covered in future posts.
  • Recent Comments

  • Top 5 Posts

  • Most Recent Posts

  • Post Categories

  • Ambassa-Archives

  • Contact

    For questions or information about this blog and other social media tools used by San Diego International Airport, contact:
    Steven Shultz, M.S.
    Deputy Director, Public & Community Relations /
    San Diego County Regional Airport Authority: sshultz@san.org

Magazines in the sky

reader1

Many people like to take along a book to read while on airplane trips, using the waiting and flying time to catch up on the latest best-selling mystery, biography or self-help advice. Personally speaking, I find books to be a bit bulky to cart around when I travel.

I am, however, an inveterate magazine reader! I have a habit of taking at least a couple of magazines I subscribe to along with me to the airport — not just when I fly, but also frequently on workdays for lunchtime reading.arizona-cover

Yet, even with my supply of magazines to read on flights, I inevitably wind up buying some interesting issue I just couldn’t pass up at the airport newsstand. Recent jaunts at Austin-Bergstrom and Phoenix Sky Harbor airports ledtexas-cover me to buy copies of Texas Parks and Wildlife and Arizona Highways respectively, each of which is a regional periodical only stocked in their respective home states (justification for my purchases!).

But if a particular magazine tends to become a regular purchase, I wind up making that a subscription, reasoning that $15 or $20 a year is more economical than buying a few issues off the rack at $5 each. Such was the case for me in choosing a subscription to the adventure magazine, Men’s Journal.mens-cover1

But if you do prefer to just buy random issues when you travel, one great feature available at SDIA and other HMSHost airport newsstands is Magazine Plus, a “free-quent buyer” program. Just ask the sales attendant for a punch card that lets you get the seventh magazine free after purchasing six magazines.

In addition to the newsstand options, there are also airline in-flight magazines to peruse on the plane. I find it interesting to look at the airport hub layouts, as well as the airline’s flight route maps — even if they’re not on the route I’m flying at the time. I always seem to find that the crossword puzzle is already worked out in my issue though!

But it is amazing how often I find ideas about a given destination. Last year, while en route to Kansas City to attend a cousin’s wedding, I found Southwest’s Spiritspirit-cover magazine had a feature story all about…Kansas City! So, sometimes you can find news you can really use!ed

What magazines do you find to be great airport accompaniments? Let me know by clicking the blue comments link below. Happy reading!

3 Responses

  1. Ed-

    Every month I think I get 5 or 6 different magazines delivered to the house. Most of them are special interest subscriptions that aren’t exactly time sensitive. I always use time on flights to get caught up on important reading, like:

    – Rolling Stone
    – Conde Nast
    – Sunset
    – West Ways
    – San Diego Magazine

    Here is a helpful hint- if you want to make a flight attendant’s day, hand them your used magazines as you exit the aircraft. Between flights there is plenty of time to flip through Rolling Stone.

  2. This is exactly how my husband found “Armchair General” – in an airport one day, wating… Good to know there are other browsers out there!!

  3. Nice article Ed, I didn’t know about the buy 6 get 7th free, and others in my department didn’t know either! When I fly Hawaiian Airlines to visit my sister and her husband in Maui, I love their magazine “Hana Hou” so much information about the islands, and the pictures are spectacular. Here’s their website in case you want to check it out: http://www.hanahou.com/

    Laurel

Leave a Reply

