• Ambassa-Visitors

    • 88,735 hits
  • Site Meter
    Click here to see from where: Geo Visitors Map

  • Welcome



    Welcome to the Ambassablog! We're the front-line employee bloggers of the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority and participants in the Airport Authority's Goodwill Ambassador Program.

    Here you'll find our continually updated posts about life at historic San Diego International Airport (Lindbergh Field).

    Take a look around, and Email us if there's something you'd like to see added to the Ambassablog or covered in future posts.
  • Recent Comments

  • Top 5 Posts

  • Most Recent Posts

  • Post Categories

  • Ambassa-Archives

  • Contact

    For questions or information about this blog and other social media tools used by San Diego International Airport, contact:
    Steven Shultz, M.S.
    Deputy Director, Public & Community Relations /
    San Diego County Regional Airport Authority: sshultz@san.org

Somewhere under the rainbow…


This entry I am calling alternatively All in a day’s work! As many of my coworkers know by now, I love being around airplanes! I have to thank my Dad for giving me the love of planes. I remember when we were little kids, my dad would bring us down to Lindbergh Field and park at the foot of the runway so we could watch the planes land. I guess I have never lost the pure amazement at seeing these huge pieces of machinery landing … as well as taking off! I actually have a bumper sticker in my cube that says “I ♥ Airplane Noise.”

Last week Robyn & I were walking over to one of the back offices to pick up a laptop. It was raining, and when we walked out of the office we both looked up to see one of the most beautiful rainbows that I have ever seen! I could actually see where both ends met the ground! Usually the ends disappear before touching the ground. As we were standing there admiring this picture, it dawns on me that I can take a picture with my phone

So here you can see the pictures I took showing a plane taking off through the rainbow, as well as the rainbow framing planes on the tarmac. And if you look closely, you will see that the bottom picture captured a double rainbow!

This entry is just for the pure enjoyment of the beauty we can find around us if we look hard enough!

I LOVE working at this place!

Until next time … Dennise

2 Responses

  1. (hum along to Somewhere Over the Rainbow)

    Somewhere over the airport
    Airplanes fly
    Planes fly over the rainbow
    Why then, oh why can’t I?
    Some day I’ll board a jet
    And wake up where the cars are far behind me
    Where troubles melt like lemondrops
    Away above San Diego Bay
    SDIA’s where you’ll find me…

  2. I love AIRPLANE Noise too! Aircraft are amazing! I too was raised on the tarmac/ ramp/ apron with my dad watching airplanes at airports including General Aviation (GA)airports. (We need to help Ryan – he is still learning to appreciate GA aircraft!)

    My entire life has been shaped by aviation and I am sooo happy to be working at SDIA too!

Leave a Reply

